It’s happening

I’m finally leaving!

Tomorrow has been a very long awaited day in my household: which is possibly the reason why I’m still not nervous in the slightest. I think after 2 years of mentally preparing myself and forming expectations I’m just so ready to start this year, so all I’m feeling is excitement. But then again, we’ll see if I can still say that tomorrow afternoon.

Saying my goodbyes has been upsetting though. They’d been really spread out until this weekend so I hadn’t been particularly emotional; until Friday, when I got long hugs from three of my best friends and I realised I wouldn’t be able to hug them again for a year. It suddenly seemed like a really scary concept.

The next day, my three favourite little boys and their parents popped over for a while and saying goodbye to them was particularly hard. They will all change so much whilst I’m away and after being a consistent part of their lives for the last 4 years, I hate the idea of missing out on watching them grow up.

Luckily, my big sister made it home for the weekend and I’m really grateful for these terribly English, autumnal two days with my family. I’m also extremely grateful that they helped me pack because it truly has been the most stressful experience since A levels. The number of things I’m being forced to leave behind is heartbreaking. But I’m finally feeling somewhat ready- got there in the end! I really hope I haven’t forgotten anything important!

For those of you who aren’t aware: I’m spending my first week in New York for orientation and training and then I travel to my family in New Jersey at the weekend. I’m staying in the New Yorker hotel with a large group of Au pairs who have come from all around the world and will then be going off to stay in various different states. However, I have been in contact with a group of British girls who are all going to be at my orientation (two of which I will actually be meeting at the airport and getting on the same plane as), so at least I already know people out there! I was speaking to one of the girls, before we got in contact with the rest of the group, because we’re going to be living about 15 minutes from each other in New Jersey, which is really exciting. It’s comforting to know that I’m not doing this alone: also part of the reason why I’m not massively nervous- I suspect I’ll end up doing a lot scarier things in the future, if all goes to plan.

My flight is at 4pm and lasts almost 8 hours, so I’ll be arriving at New York airport at about ten to 7. I’ve never been jet lagged before and if you know me at all, you know how much sufficient sleep means to me: so I can’t wait to see how that works. Hopefully I’ll be too busy and excited to notice. Also, I should mention: at the end of last week I received emails about the possibility of the hurricane in America passing over the east coast and affecting my flight, but fingers crossed, everything seems to be alright at the moment.

So, I’ll see you on the other side everyone. Over FaceTime, that is. Please stay in touch just as much as you would if we were in the same time zone, I promise I will be working hard to do so myself. Wish me luck!

One thought on “It’s happening

  1. Simon says:

    Hope you had a good flight. Followed your progress on the Internet.
    Have a great time in New York over the next few days. Love you xxxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

